Planning a live show..Can’t Ableton.

As you probably know by now I’m headlining “The Brain Sugar Cirkus” in Joe Lee’s Tullamore on Saturday 27th Aug. I didn’t want to go down the traditional dj with cd’s route, because it would limit what I could achieve technically.

The plan was to use all my own tracks and some bootleg edits on the fly in Ableton using my Fame49 keyboard as the main keys for synths, my Akai LPK 25 to launch clips, and touch osc on a tablet for controlling levels and effects. Then came along the idea of adding a LEM Ultimix Mixer to the equation, to give me even more control. All sounding well in principle.

LEM Ultimix:

lem ultimix

The LEM Ultimix was gone dodge for a while. A wedding band was using it and blew the shite out of it, along with the power problems with hotels it would turn on but wouldn’t load properly and all these mad lights were on. It was kept in a damp van, and I’ve had it here in the warm utility room for the past few months. I turned it on a few times since and it was like a spaceship, lights on and off and wouldn’t even go to the loading screen. Then one day recently I turned it on with my magic wife sitting beside me, an low and behold, it went into the loading screen. Beaut. I was over the moon. For around five minutes. Then it started flashing again. Rage. So I turned it off and gave the screen a puck. Turned it back on, and its working since. So now I’m stuck with the idea of adding the Ultimix to the live set, its compressors, reverbs and delays would be class.

Fame49 Keyboard:

hqdefault

Akai LPK25:

1826488_800

TouchOsc:

I’ve been trying all day to get TouchOsc set up. The bastarding thing works one minute and then not the next. If you could just connect it by usb and use it that way it would make such a difference. This business of setting things up is quite tedious because you have a lot to remember.in order to getting it going, instead of just plugging in a usb. I’ll get it working if its the death of me.

After all this, there is the planning of the set, breaking tracks up into different pieces, and putting back the jigsaw so you can dance to it. I’m thinking mixing the old with the new, sure we’ll just have to see on the 27th. Sure it’ll be alright on the night 🙂

Link to event page

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment